Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Garden Update July 11, 2017

Filed under: Garden,Just Thinking,Outdoor Pursuits — leighj @ 7:55 am

My garden is yellow. I went over to spy on my neighbor’s garden tonight, and hers is super green. And now I’m green with envy. My plants have a yellow tinge, and I’ve tried putting compost around the base of the plants, but I don’t know if it’s working. Do I need more? Less? Water? I’m uncertain.

When we got back from our week away, I had a lot of green bean growth (enough for an actual mess of green beans!), some overly mature snow peas, a cucumber, a patty pan squash, and some good basil growth in the pots by the door. My tomatoes were sprouting, but I know the squirrels have been at them, and today my Cherokee green had blossom rot on one of the promising tomatoes. It’s like my garden has grown into a disappointing teenager from the adorable toddler it was a month ago. I don’t know what to do for it to make it talk to me.

I still love it, but I have more work to do to figure it out. Meanwhile, I go out to stare at it every night and try to train the branches to do what I want. I brought in a few tomatoes tonight to see if I can get them to ripen on the windowsill….

 

2 Responses to “Garden Update”

  1. denpq Says:

    Farmer John says..i would try phosphorous for the tomato and nitrogen for the yellow.
    blood meal for nitrogen and bone meal for the tomato.
    natural and healthy.
    but its just a guess.

  2. denpq Says:

    Also..in case its a blight/fungus i would consider neem oil or some oil fungicide


Leave a Reply

