Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Women’s March and Other Things January 19, 2017

Filed under: Uncategorized — leighj @ 7:00 am
  • Last night, we took in the Marymount Women’s Basketball game. The kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves, and it was especially fun to see Porter clapping at appropriate moments, and Harlan clapping at inappropriate moments. It got a little rowdy, but it was generally.
  • I told a friend I was torn about going to the Women’s March, and she was distressed with the thought that perhaps I was ideologically torn. I’m not ideologically torn at all! I like the progressive platform. I’m torn because I’d need to take Harlan with me, and the last time I went to a march, I didn’t have any kids, but we got tired of standing around and tried to get off the march route, but the police and security wouldn’t let us peel away from the crowd. I don’t want to be stuck downtown if Harlan is squirrelly. I’m still thinking I’ll probably go.
  • I’m enjoying reading for classes, and I’m making an effort to get myself geared back up for my writing goals. However, because I’m only on campus limited times each day, I’m also enjoying signing up to volunteer at the kids’ schools. Gilbert’s class has their read with a parent week coming up, and I do like to go in an have the kids read with me. Tomorrow, I’m going to Seamus’s class as the mystery reader. Every semester, I think, if I can get a few of my students (who wouldn’t normally) to commit to choosing to read for fun and interest, I will feel like I’ve met some tangental goals.
  • Porter meets George Mason.

    Porter meets George Mason. We played hooky on Thursday last week and went downtown to see monuments. It was so much fun.

     

  • Porter rode in the stroller until he saw all these geese. He needed to check them out!

    Porter rode in the stroller until he saw all these geese. He needed to check them out!

     

  • They've really begun to enjoy playing together. (Except when they don't!)

    They’ve really begun to enjoy playing together. (Except when they don’t!)

     

  • Just swinging in the snow! It was nice it snowed one day, but I'm not sure we're going to get any more.

    Just swinging in the snow! It was nice it snowed one day, but I’m not sure we’re going to get any more.

     

  • We went out for a family hike to Mason Neck. Patrick said, "Weren't we just here?" I said, "Yeah. Three years ago."

    We went out for a family hike to Mason Neck. Patrick said, “Weren’t we just here?” I said, “Yeah. Three years ago.”

 

Leave a Reply

