Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Do Overs May 21, 2015

Filed under: Academic,Totally Me — leighj @ 5:53 pm
Tags:

I’d been thinking about writing a post about how subsequent children in a family are like do overs–you get a chance to change some things, perfect your techniques, snuggle up a fuzzy little baby head all over again. However, I’m still thinking about do overs, but now it’s not so rosy.

Yesterday, there were some weird things happening with my work computer. Today, I came in to clear the browsing history and shut down the computer. When I tried to restart it, it said “No Hard Drive Detected.” NOT  what I want to see. IT folks are not optimistic for the full recovery of my hard drive.

So I get a do over. On all my teaching materials from the last four years. Big sigh. At least I’m very diligent about backing up my scholarly work. Right now, though, I have to go teach. Where will I find the appropriate rubric for my work????

 

One Response to “Do Overs”

  1. denpq Says:

    Good thing you back up! As for your kids, they are each perfect in their own way. You have done a wonderful job as a mother. I wish I could spend so much more time with your children. They are a delight! xxGreat Aunt Denise


Leave a Reply

