Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Preschool Graduation, Memorial Day, and More June 1, 2014

Oh, I can’t believe I forgot about Preschool Moving Up day. Seamus had a little ceremony with his class where his teacher said something she loved about each student. Seamus: Curiosity and attention to detail. Now, I used to work at a camp and I know that we had to have three positive things to say about each child as they left camp, but we never had a hard time thinking of something. We will certainly miss taking them to the community center for preschool. They’ve learned to write their names (Gilbert still writes his backwards, but it’s coming along), count, create artwork, sing silly songs, play games with others, get stickers, raise their hands, and so much more that I don’t even know about.

Boys with their teachers on Seamus's last day.

Boys with their teachers on Seamus’s last day.

As we were getting ready to leave to walk (ride the scooters) home, their teacher teared up. I have to say, I did a little bit too. 2-3 days a week, 3 hours a day was just perfect for our family’s preschool experience.

Seamus waits with friends to be called up. It was cute when he clapped for his friends.

Seamus waits with friends to be called up. It was cute when he clapped for his friends.

Gilbert's Ceremony the day before.

Gilbert’s Ceremony the day before.

I didn’t make it to Gilbert’s (just like I didn’t make it to Seamus’s last year) because I was working, but I think he had a good time. Missing stuff like that does make me feel weird, but then, I don’t think it’s that big of a deal, because I care more than he does. He had grandparents there, and Seamus and Patrick.

Seamus, on the other hand, was very concerned that we all make it to his ceremony on time. Patrick was mowing the grass, and Gilbert and I were working on the house, in preparation for our party. At Parent Teacher Conferences, his teacher had told us that the party would start at 11, but she didn’t expect to begin the events until 11:20. We got there at 11:17. Seamus was upset that we were late, but we told him that we had gotten there for the important part. He agreed. Gilbert couldn’t see, so he sat on Patrick’s shoulders.

Hooray!

Hooray!

I saw in the SkyMall a “Safety Harness” for kids riding on parents’ shoulders that was supposed to keep them from falling. I venture to argue that a better selling point for me would be one that distributes weight in a way that the kid didn’t hurt the parent’s shoulders. Who cares if the kid is safe?

On Memorial Day, we went to Cherry Hill Park for the town celebration in the morning. Gilbert really wanted to ride a pony. Seamus didn’t remember his pony ride, but he wasn’t interested in going again. Gilbert got to go. I’m not sure if he was very impressed.

Gilbert gets to ride.

Gilbert gets to ride.

It was a fun day, more so in that we came home and played with the kiddie pool in the backyard, and then I went to a yoga workshop. Finally, there’s one picture from our visit to Kentucky to share. Seamus and my dad sat on a bench for a very long time. I’m not sure what they were discussing, but it looks deep.

 

Contemplating the garden(s).

Contemplating the garden(s).

 

Leave a Reply

