Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Working Saturday May 31, 2014

With Patrick and the boys off camping, it’s like 2010 around here again! Well, sort of. I am pregnant and hoping to do some writing, but I also hope that the camping is more fun than it was that time. They are older and more interested in the whole process than Seamus was when he was 14 months old.

My job is wonderful, and I can’t think of anything I would enjoy more. However! Today, I’m working on an essay for an anthology; it’s a revision/expansion of the essay I presented at a conference in Syracuse last September. It’s a good idea (I think), so I’m committed to working on it and making it good enough that if it’s not accepted for the anthology, that I can place it with another journal relatively easily. What’s sticking at me right now is that the essay is in MLA format, and I have to change it to Chicago Footnotes for the anthology. And this just feels so tedious. (This is completely aside from the fact that I still have to write another 2000 words for it to be a viable contender for the anthology.)

I’m also teaching a five week summer class, which as my colleague astutely points out, means that the class is “Accelerated not Abbreviated.” I’ve made my students learn this, but I’ve also had to learn this too, when they take an exam and I need to turn it back around to them the next day, it’s like a week of the regular semester. Luckily, I’m having a great time with this group. They seem interested and engaged with what we’re reading and viewing.

Last night I went to dinner with my friend in Old Town. We walked her dogs and walked down to King Street. She’s the friend who will take the boys if I go into labor without any family around. I’m not worried about them at all if this were to be the case, because they know her so well and always enjoy playing with her dogs, the cat, and the fish. She can walk them to the water to feed the ducks, and her place is walking distance to the birth center.

We had happy hour pizza at RedRocks. It was great, but since neither of us were drinking, we had to pass up the even better happy hour specials on fancy cocktails we saw in abundance in Old Town. It would be dangerous for me to live to close to there. I think every single little restaurant is cute. I rode metro to her place; again, something I really love about living in the city is the ease with which one can get places if one is willing to think creatively without defaulting to using the car.

Ok, I guess I should now go write these 400 word treatises on my essay, not on my blog. I’ll try to put up some pictures later today or tomorrow. I also wrote a birth plan, since the midwives said they’d like to have one even if I’ve had two previous birth experiences. It turned out that I had a lot of feelings about it. I might post it after baby’s born.

 

Leave a Reply

