Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Working Mom February 5, 2014

Filed under: Academic,Family Life,Teaching,Totally Me — leighj @ 1:59 pm

My friend just posted a piece on going to work after being a stay at home mom for a while, and it struck a chord with me, especially her reference to The Feminine Mystique, which I taught in my Major Women Writers course last semester. I love working, and I love my job, but I don’t love the days when I don’t see the kids at all. For one thing, that’s just a bummer; for another, it tends to make Gilbert super clingy the next day. He will not let me out of his sight, follows me around the house, etc.

However, this semester, I’m getting to spend a lot of time with them. My Tuesday involves getting to campus by 7:30, so I don’t usually see them in the morning, but I get home in time for lunch and to take them to their Spanish class. Then we all have dinner, and I head back to campus to teach from 5:30-9:30. The mom part is killer, because I think most of us feel pretty competent at our jobs, but in the house, that’s a different story. It’s always a new challenge. For instance, Gilbert will hardly eat dinner. He loves to cook, and will eat throughout the day, but dinner is torture. He’ll sit at the table, but he won’t touch the food. I wouldn’t care, but he wakes up just famished and manic about getting his breakfast.

I’m out of time. I guess I didn’t know what I wanted to say in this post. It’s all hard–working, parenting, cooking. It’s all entertaining too, I suppose. I love watching my students get something new in the same way I love watching the boys practice a new skill or discover a new thought.

 

Leave a Reply

