Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Childhood Memory September 6, 2013

When my brothers and I were young, there was an old theater in Bowling Green, KY that used to bring in musical acts. We were about 8 or 9 and my parents took us to see John Prine. About the only John Prine song we knew was “Paradise” because my dad used to sing it to us all the time.

There was a woman in the row in front of us who’d been drinking too much and kept yelling “Dear Daddy! Dear Daddy!” as a request, and all three of us thought she was requesting Paradise, because to us, it made sense that the song would be called Dear Daddy. “Daddy, won’t you take me back to Muhlenberg County, down by the Green River, where Paradise lay” We were pretty enthusiastic, so we yelled it too.

If he’d sung it, which he didn’t, I imagine it would have sounded something like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zsjm4dm4_gE

It was years later–in college even, before I realized that that woman was actually yelling for the song “Dear ABBY!” Everyone at my hippie school was jealous that I’d seen John Prine in concert, in his prime.

 

Leave a Reply

