Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Family Resemblance April 14, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — leighj @ 1:28 pm
Tags:

Patrick and I went to the library this week. I had a chance to browse for a little while–something I don’t get to do when I take Gilbert to the library with me. I picked out a movie, Away We Go (incidentally, a fun and funny movie) and it’s soundtrack, which I really like.

The books–oh, the books. I’ve turned into my grandmother. They’re all weird. Here are the titles:

  1. There Once Lived a Girl Who Seduced Her Sister’s Husband, and He Hanged Himself: Love Stories by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya (a Russian writer)
  2. Hotel Iris by Yoko Ogawa (a Japanese writer)
  3. Woodcuts of Women by Dagoberto Gilb

And I’m looking forward to reading all of them! Liz saw them on my table and thinks I’ve pretty much lost it.

Secondly, I cooked peppers and onions for dinner last night. Patrick walked into the kitchen, took a look at them, and said, “Nice dinner, Connie.”

I embrace the way’s I’m like my mom and granny!

 

2 Responses to “Family Resemblance”

  1. As I read this blog, I am at the Hotel Iris, just outside of Vienna, Austria. A very normal place.

    GFH

  2. Bob Says:

    We loved “Away We Go.” Both Maya Rudolph & John Krasinski have done a good job transcending TV. Don’t remember the soundtrack, though.


Leave a Reply

