Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

SnowMan March 7, 2013

We did build a snowman yesterday. The boys thought it was quite a novelty. The pictures were horrible. I don’t know if it was the camera, or the fact it was still snowing/raining, or what. They’re terrible. I’m pretty annoyed that we have good cameras, but this one is no good.

Isn't this the worst picture ever?! AARGH.

Isn’t this the worst picture ever?! AARGH.

Anyway, it was fun. Seamus yelled, “We need a carrot!” So I told him to go inside and get one. He did. And we have plenty of dead branches in our yard. The old towel on the porch made a nice scarf. (Side note: The house next door–not the one you see in the background–is for sale. The realtor introduced himself to us. I’m pretty sure they’d like us to clean up our yard before they start showing the house. But we aren’t the tacky neighbors for nothing.)

I got bored with the snowman making, so I started throwing snowballs at the boys. I was aiming above their heads or right at their feet. It was all fun and games until I missed and hit Gilbert in the head. He cried. I told you, I’m up for mother of the year. Just a few more mishaps and it’s in the bag. Or really, a few more days at home with the boys by myself.

Show and Share at preschool has been touch and go. We didn’t even know it was happening until the middle of the year, and by the time we realized they were trying to slow it down. The teacher has tried a few policies, but most are not working. The new policy is boys one week, girls the next, and try to relate to the theme of the week. This week was Dr. Seuss, and I didn’t know what Seamus should take. Finally, I remembered we have a stuffed Wocket from There’s a Wocket in My Pocketso I gave it to him and made him practice. “Seamus, what did you bring for show and share?” And I made him practice saying, “It’s a wocket in my pocket from the book by Dr. Seuss.” He performed perfectly on preschool drop-off. I feel the helicopter parent/tiger mom in me coming out. Stop me now! (Before I turn into my dad!)

 

 

One Response to “SnowMan”

  1. Linda St Clair Says:

    I think the problem with the photo is that the camera lens fogged over when you took it from the warm inside to the cold damp outside


Leave a Reply

