Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Thankful November 23, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — leighj @ 2:01 pm
Tags: , ,

For Thanksgiving breakfast, we started out with carbs…biscuits. They were delicious. We had a conversation that tried to help the boys understand what the holiday we were experiencing was all about. (No, not the hat with feathers on it Seamus made in preschool. I don’t even know what to say about that.) We explained that thankful means happy to have in our lives. In honor of going around the table to say what we’re thankful for, I helpfully volunteered Patrick to go first. I think he hates these rituals.

He said, “I’m thankful for my two little boys.” Then it was Gilbert’s turn, “Mama!” My turn, a lot of blah blah, my kids, my job, Patrick, my family and friends, my health…etc. I like to go overboard. Seamus was getting into it by this time, so he thought for a second and said, “I’m thankful for Javon and preschool!” We all laughed and called it a success.

We had to repeat the ritual several times throughout the day because Seamus kept asking for it again. It evolved to Seamus asking if I was still sad that I won’t get to see my friend Sean anymore. Gilbert decided to go for a Seamus style laugh and say he was thankful for art class. All in all we counted our thankfulness many times yesterday. I won’t lie; I was thankful they took a good nap yesterday and that I was able to get a bunch of exams graded.

 

Leave a Reply

