Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Biking to Work October 6, 2011

Filed under: Outdoor Pursuits,Totally Me — leighj @ 10:05 am

My goal is to ride my bike to work three days a week. Generally, that means Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday. On Tuesdays and Fridays, I go in really early, park in a two hour spot that starts at eight, so I leave at 10, come home, and Patrick goes downtown to drive his pedicab. Even though riding is easier than driving because we’re so close (3 miles), I still have a hard time motivating myself to get on my bike in the morning. What is it about humans that even when something is fun, and we enjoy it when we’re doing it, that we just don’t want to if it seems even a little about work?

All the reasons I love riding my bike to work:

  1. Fresh air in my lungs in the morning.
  2. Exercise that’s hard to come by with the boys competing for attention.
  3. It’s only 20 minutes.
  4. Mental break from work and home.
  5. I get good ideas on the bike. (I’ve already planned my book, another article, a conference paper, and my sabbatical, as well as some good class planning.)
  6. Seeing the miles increase on my bike’s computer. I’m about to hit 3000 (recorded) miles on this bike. That works out to less than $.23 a mile to run my bike–so far. Every mile I ride brings it down.
  7. Seeing people out walking their dogs, taking kids to school, driving like maniacs.
  8. Keeping an eye out for yard sales, houses for sale, and general neighborhood feeling.
Reasons I don’t like riding to school:
  1. The 1/2 mile hill home. It irritates me every single time I ride it. Maybe I should find a new route.
  2. Getting my bike out of the shed.
  3. Changing clothes at school.
  4. I can’t carry a cup of coffee on my bike.
Clearly, laziness is a problem.
 

2 Responses to “Biking to Work”

  1. We just got a WeeRide front bike seat for me and Rylan, and we are loving it! I know what you mean about having a hard time motivating yourself to do something even if you love it. That’s how I’ve always felt about yoga – I never want to do it, but I’m always glad I did afterward.


Leave a Reply

