Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Saying Yes December 14, 2010

I’m trying to get out of my comfort zone a little bit. I’m also remembering my New Year’s Resolution last year, which was to be more present when I’m spending time with Seamus or Patrick. Now add Gilbert to that mix as well, and that’s a lot of presence. The boys do make it easier sometimes to be more present because they demand attention and are so funny. However, I’m also trying to say yes to fun things my friends ask me if I want to do instead of thinking of all the reasons I don’t want to do these things.

For instance, I’m not sure who suggested the Jingle Bell Triathlon, but I’m glad we all did it. My friend also asked if I wanted to make beeswax candles, and I said yes. It turned out to be really fun, even though I had never thought of doing something like that before. The beeswax came in a 30 lb block and watching my friend bust it up was worth the time commitment in and of itself. But moreover, I met a cool person, saw an enormous Christmas tree procured in the Jemez mountains for pennies, and ate some good cheese.

Another friend sent me a “groupon” for a dessert cooking class, but I missed it because my email was down. It sounded really fun–but again this isn’t something I would normally say yes to, but I think I would have tried it this time. I really want to get as much out of New Mexico as I can over the next few months, because when we don’t live here anymore, I don’t want people asking if I ever did such and so that is so famously NM, and I’ll have to say no. So I’d still like to go to the Grand Canyon, and there are some bike rides I still need to take. Any other musts?

I do realize that by saying yes to fun stuff, I’m going to have to say no to other stuff, and so I’m trying to balance this by not compromising the time I get to spend with the boys, and I’m also trying to be very aware of the fact that I do have a tendency to take on way to much, so there’s that as well.

One thing I’m super glad I said yes to is being in my friend Liz’s wedding in May! There’s the link if you want to check out the digs and my awesome biography!

 

One Response to “Saying Yes”

  1. Linda St.Clair Says:

    I’m a firm believer to saying “yes” to life. I almost never have been sorry I said yes to something and I have had regrets about things I’ve missed. But you are also right that it is easy to get over-committed and over-busy. What I have found helpful is to realize that I can say “yes” and sample something without agreeing to do it forever. The fact that you are moving soon will also help as you can’t possibly get sucked into “fovever” on a lot of things you can only do in NM. As for the boys, you may be able to include them in some of the fun activities and you are setting a good example for them when they see that you want balance in your life. I personally think it is a burden for the child to be the center of his/her parent’s life to the sole exclusion of everything else particularly as the child gets older.


Leave a Reply

