Academic Leigh Speaking

A professor, four kids, and a crash course in work/life balance

Chapter Four October 7, 2009

Filed under: Academic — leighj @ 7:15 pm
Tags: , ,

Starting this blog was my pump break as I worked on Chapter Four today. And it’s a 17 page draft now to turn into Jesse! I was originally going to start on Chapter Five but was stymied by the volume of material and uncertainty regarding my interpretation of the text. With this chapter, I know I’m saying something different from all the other voices out there.

However, blogging about my academic work raises some questions for me, especially with regard to rumors that there will soon be electronic reserves of dissertations. “How’m I supposed to turn it into a book?!” Blah, blah, blah. But seriously, I can’t imagine not getting more bang for the buck for this work. So on to fellowship applications! Heigh, ho! In other stress of electronic retrieval, the graduate advisor suggested an electronic reserve of recently filed prospectus documents. Hmm. This seems too easy to poach.

 

Leave a Reply

